Warner Classics / 2007

Ballad for Edvard Grieg

Berlin Philharmonic; Mariss Jansons, conductor

“Andsnes is an aristocrat among pianists who has the gift of uncovering new depths without any loss of spontaneity of the slightest trace of artifice.” – BBC Music Magazine *****
“I always feel a sense of homecoming when I perform Grieg yet I don’t think that this is necessarily because I am Norwegian. Grieg’s music has a universal feeling – a sense of drawing the listener in – and that is probably why he remains Norway’s most eminent composer even now, 100 years after his death.” Leif Ove Andsnes

Lyric Pieces, recorded on Grieg’s own piano at his house in Troldhaugen, just outside Bergen

Track Listing
Grieg: Piano Concerto in A minor, Op. 16
1. I. Allegro molto moderato
2. II. Adagio
3. III. Allegro moderato molto e marcato – Andante maestoso

4. Grieg: Ballade in G minor, Op. 24
5. Grieg: Lyric Pieces, Op.57 (Book 6): No.6 Homesickness (Heimweh)
6. Grieg: Lyric Pieces, Op.62 (Book 7): No.6 Homeward (Hjemad)
7. Grieg: Lyric Pieces, Op.68 (Book 9): No.5 Cradle song (Bådnlåt)
8. Grieg: Wedding Day at Troldhaugen (from Lyric Pieces Op. 65)
9. Grieg: Lyric Pieces, Op.68 (Book 9): No.4 Evening in the mountains (Aften på höjfeldet)
10. Grieg: Lyric Pieces, Op.71 (Book 10): No.7 Remembrances (Efterklang)

Listen on Spotify

How hard it is to over-praise the vitality and distinction of this princely pianist… His authority and finesse are total. Finely recorded, this disc is the best possible introduction to Grieg’s range and character in his piano music.