Warner Classics / 2003

Dvořák: Violin Concerto & Piano Quintet

Sarah Chang (violin), Wolfram Christ (viola), Georg Faust (cello), Alex Kerr (violin)

(Violin Concerto: London Symphony Orchestra; Sir Colin Davis; Sarah Chang, violin)

It’s an all-round winner of a disc, with superlative playing from both soloist and orchestra, and a recorded sound to match. Andsnes’s view of the music is fairly traditional…[his] pedalling is a shade cautious, but he plays the piece so beautifully that there are no grounds for complaint…Overall, this looks set to be a highly enjoyable journey.

BBC Music Magazine *****

Track Listing
Dvořák: Violin Concerto in A minor, Op. 53
1. I. Allegro ma non troppo – Quasi moderato
2. II. Adagio ma non troppo
3. III. Finale (Allegro giocoso, ma non troppo)

Dvořák: Piano Quintet in A major, Op. 81
4. I. Allegro ma non tanto
5. II. Dumka (Andante con moto)
6. III. Scherzo (Furiant). Molto vivace
7. IV. Finale (Allegro)

Listen on Spotify