Warner Classical / 2001

Janácek: Piano Music


Over the next four seasons, the celebrated Norwegian pianist and newly-signed exclusive Sony Classical artist Leif Ove Andsnes will devote the majority of his performing and recording activities to the music of Beethoven.

‘The Beethoven Journey’ is a collaboration with the Mahler Chamber Orchestra, one of the world´s most acclaimed touring orchestras, on the move approximately 200 days each year. The 45 core members of the MCO come from 20 different countries and live all over Europe. The journey began with the live recording of Beethoven’s Piano Concertos Nos. 1 & 3 at Prague Spring Festival in the historic Rudolfinum building, where Andsnes is not only playing the piano but also directing the orchestra. Although Andsnes has an extensive discography ‘The Beethoven Journey’ is his first Beethoven recording.

Track Listing
Janáček: Piano Sonata 1.X.1905 in E flat minor, JW VIII / 19 ‘From the Street’
1. Presentiment
2. Death

Janáček: In the Mists
3. Andante
4. Molto adagio
5. Andantino
6. Presto

Excerpt, Janáček: On An Overgrown Path
7. Our evenings
8. A blown-away leaf
9. Come with us!
10. The Madonna of Frydek
11. They chattered like swallows
12. Words fail!
13. Good night!
14. Unutterable anguish
15. In tears
16. The barn owl has not flown away!

Listen on Spotify