Virgin / 1995

Violin Sonatas

Christian Tetzlaff, violin

“Andsnes’s view of the Emperor Concerto’s slow movement may strike some listeners as less contemplative and poetic than usual, and it may be that his interpretation of the piece will deepend over time, but it’s beautifully played…Particularly notable in Andsnes’s performance of the first movement is the mysterious approach to the recapitulation, where he and the orchestra vividly convey the feeling of the music holding its breath.”

BBC Music Magazine *****

Track Listing
Janáček: Violin Sonata
1. I. Con moto
2. II. Ballada : con moto
3. III. Allegretto
4. IV. Adagio

Debussy: Violin Sonata in G minor
5. I. Allegro vivo
6. II. Intermède: Fantasque et léger
7. III. Finale: Très animé

Ravel: Violin Sonata in G major
8. I. Allegretto
9. II. Blues: Moderato
10. III. Perpetuum mobile: Allegro

Nielsen: Violin Sonata No. 2, Op.38
11. I. Allegro
12. II. Molto adagio
13. III. Allegro piacevole

Listen on Spotify