Stream - Cal Performances - Recital

03dec7:30 pmStream - Cal Performances - Recital

Event Details

MOZART: Fantasia in C minor, K. 475
BEETHOVEN: Piano Sonata in C minor, Op. 13, Pathétique
JANÁČEK: Selections from On an Overgrown Path, Book 1
DVOŘÁK: Selections from Poetic Tone Pictures, Op. 85

Venue note:
With commanding technique and a keen musical mind, the brilliant Norwegian pianist Leif Ove Andsnes is known for thrilling performances on a wide range of repertoire. Praised as “a pianist of magisterial elegance, power, and insight,” by the New York Times, he has been nominated for nearly a dozen Grammy awards for his recordings of works by Haydn, Mozart, Schumann, Grieg, Rachmaninoff, Bartók, and Stravinsky. Andsnes last performed on campus during Cal Performances’ 2017–18 season, and he was artistic director of the expansive Ojai at Berkeley festival here in 2012, when he was praised by the San Francisco Chronicle for his curatorial acumen as well as his pianistic virtuosity. True to his reputation for artfully assembled programs, Andsnes matches Mozart’s dramatic Fantasia in C minor, which was influenced by the counterpoint of Bach, with Beethoven’s beloved Pathétique sonata, and selections from two deeply evocative and poetic cycles by Czech masters Janáček and Dvořák. Andsnes will record his Cal Performances at Home recital from Bergen, Norway, where he resides.

Stream is available for 30 days from premiere.



(Thursday) 7:30 pm PST



Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *